Living Wills

Today I decided to get to terms with Living Wills. This is what I have come up with.

This goes by several names, including the “Advance Decision to refuse medical treatment”. “Health care directive” or “Medical directive” among others.

The simple idea is to write up something declaring your wishes regarding your end of life care. With the help of the internet, I have cobbled together a templete below – feel free to take this as a starting point. I intend doing one, and having my wife also use this to make one for herself. We’ll run them past the lawyer, attach to the Last Will and Testament, and pop a copy into the NHS GP we’re registered with.

Living Will /Advance Decision to refuse medical treatment

I, [NAME] of [ADDRESS] [POST CODE] was born on DAY MONTH YEAR.

  1. I have the following identifying features:
    1. SCAR
    2. BIRTHMARK ETC
  2. Being of sound mind and understanding the implications of refusing life sustaining treatment, I make this Living Will/ Advance Decision now as to my medical care and treatment directed to my family, my doctors and any other medical personnel, institution or authority in the event that I lose mental capacity as defined by the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and cannot make health care decisions for myself.
  3. I DIRECT as follows:
  4. My life shall not be artificially prolonged and no life sustaining treatment shall be administered in the following circumstances:
    1. if I am diagnosed with a terminal disease and am unable to feed or wash myself or move around without being assisted by others. In this situation I will have lost all dignity and will find life unbearable
    2. if I am diagnosed with a degenerative disease or brain damage and am unable to feed or wash myself or move around without being assisted by others. In this situation I will have lost all dignity and will find life unbearable
    3. if I am in permanent pain and my attending doctor, consultant or surgeon and one independent medical practitioner certify in writing that in their opinion there is no prospect of this ever changing or in their opinion there is no real or reasonable prospect of recovery
    4. if I am permanently unconscious, comatose, in a persistent vegetative state or unable to communicate my needs and my attending doctor, consultant or surgeon and one independent medical practitioner certify in writing that in their opinion there is no real or reasonable prospect of recovery
    5. if, as a result of stroke or accident of any sort, I am incapacitated or paralysed and can’t feed or wash myself and my attending doctor, consultant or surgeon and one independent medical practitioner certify in writing that in their opinion there is no real or reasonable prospect of recovery with the current medical options available
  5. In the above circumstances I wish to be permitted to die naturally and to only receive such medical treatment as will alleviate any pain or distressing symptoms so as to make me comfortable, even if this has the effect of shortening my life.
  6. I do not wish to be fed by tube if I am unable to eat and drink.
  7. I do not wish to be resuscitated.
  8. I do not wish to be kept alive by artificial means.
  9. I do not want antibiotic or antiviral medication.
  10. I do not want an induced coma.
  11. I would prefer to die at home, rather than in a hospice or hospital if possible.
  12. This decision does not affect my desire to be treated with care, concern and respect.
  13. In the event of my death, I permit any of my organs to be removed and used for transplant.
  14. I have carefully considered my advance decision and understand fully what it means. This statement has been made of my own free will and describes my specific wishes in the event of the circumstances set out above..
  15. I have full understanding of the statements I have made in this decision. My decisions as to treatment and as detailed above are to apply even if my life is at risk. I confirm that I have understood the implications that this may shorten my life and I have discussed these implications with my GP. I will give my GP a copy of this decision and any reviews, amendments and cancellations.
  16. This advance decision shall remain in force until I revoke it or amend it.

 

This advance decision has been executed on____________________________(date)

Executed as a deed by
[NAME]
in the presence of two witnesses, neither of whom will benefit from my death:
Witness signature
Name of witness
Address
Relationship
and

 

Reviewed and confirmed on____________________________(date)
Signed by [NAME]
in the presence of the witnesses below, who will not benefit from my death:
Witness signature
Name of witness
Address
Relationship

 

Reviewed and confirmed on____________________________(date)
Signed by [NAME]
in the presence of the witnesses below, who will not benefit from my death:
Witness signature
Name of witness
Address
Relationship

 

Leave a Reply

